How To Start Saving For That Next Big Purchase After School

3 tips to help you manage money and make “adult” decisions

Malin Curry
7 min readFeb 28, 2021
Photo by Mathieu Stern on Unsplash

There’s a lot to know when it comes to managing your finances, and for most of us, this process of “adulting” after graduation is akin to trial by fire. That was certainly true for me, as shortly after my graduation I found myself in possession of a large sum of cash courtesy of the new job I had just started.

After graduation, I came up with a few goals. All of which required money. Getting a new car, moving into my own place and purchasing furniture were all on my short list, but it soon became very clear that I wouldn’t be able to actualize any of these things unless I got a handle on my finances.

I knew I’d have to make a change, trading in my frivolous spending and adopting a more frugal and restrained approach to money management. But I didn’t know the first thing about shifting my lifestyle. So I dug deep, scouring the web for practical, quick tips that would help me get serious about my money.

My savings journey has been far from easy and I’m only about 75% of the way to my ultimate goal. But the things I’ve learned not only about myself, but also financial freedom and the physical act of saving far transcend the personal value I’ve derived from this experience.

--

--

Malin Curry

Top Writer in Reading. Stories on media, marketing, writing and more // @malincurry on all platforms.